The Innviertel region is located in the northwest part of Upper Austria and includes the districts Braunau am Inn, Ried im Innkreis and Schärding. Unlike the rest of Upper Austria, this region was mostly part of Bavaria up until 1779 (Treaty of Teschen). Referring to this region as the Innviertel is something that is relatively new (before it was commonly called Innbaiern). The new term was created by the Austrian government after annexation in 1779, which also divided the territory into four quartersSee also: More information about this is available here:

Выберите регион и язык:

B&R Logo